Outstanding Observers

We are so grateful for these riders. Thank you!

Forecaster’s Choice Award 2022/23

Tom Whipple helped with the Tunnel Ridge weather station rebuild (twice), assisted forecasters in the field, and submitted many high-quality observations.

15+ Observations

Adam Clark, Chris Gotschalk, Kevin Oberholser, Jackson George, Zach Miller, Alex Slader

10+ Observations

David Steele, Burket Kniveton, Tom Whipple, Jacob Malkin, Josh Lanney

5+ Observations

Pete Costain, J Mills, Jake Ferk, Jay Sandelin, Kim Givler, David Kerner, Joel Anderson, Sara Boilen, Northwest MT Adventures, Paul Fotter

Forecaster’s Choice Award: Chris Gotschalk, reporting from his snow study plot in the Swan Range, consistently contributed valuable information throughout the season. 

15+ Observations: Adam Clark, Zach Dugan, Jackson George, Rob Millsbaugh, Kevin Oberholser 

10+ Observations: Paul Fotter, Jeff Metsky, Erich Peitzsch 

5+ Observations: Ian Bartling, Dan Cameron, Pete Costain, Jake Frerk, Kim Givler, David Kerner, Burket Kniveton, Zach Miller, Mike Reavis, David Steele, Sarah Williams, Tom Whipple 

15+ Observations: Jackson George, Chris Gotschalk, Kevin Oberholser, Alex Slader, David Steele 

5+ Observations: Mark Ambre, Joel Anderson, Adam Clark, Paul Fotter, Jake Frerk, Kim Givler, Rob Millsbaugh, Jeremy Primmer, Mike Reavis, Ryan Spencer, Sarah Williams, Tom Whipple 

12+ Observations: Kevin Oberholser, Brad Lamson, Jake Ferk 

3+ Observations: Mark Ambre, Nathan Basford, Kyle Bitney, Adam Clark, Jenny Cloutier, Alice Ford, Jake Frerk, Kim Givler, Jackson George, Brad Lamson, BoLars Matson, David Micahlove. Alan Myers-Davis, Kevin Oberholser, Brian Parker, Jeremy Primmer, Michael Reavis, Alex Slader David Steele, Sarah Williams 

Special thanks to avalanche workers in our region

Ted Steiner and Adam Clark (BNSF Railway and Dave Hamre Associates)

Lloyd Morsett, Keagen Zoellner, and the ski patrol (Whitefish Mountain Resort)

Erich Peitzsch, Zach Miller, Gabrielle Antonioli, and Jon Hageness (USGS/GNP Going-to-the-Sun Road program)

Charles Hlavac and Mike Maierhofer (Teton Pass Ski Area)